Starting 13 October 2020, Google Drive is changing what happens to the files you delete and go to trash; they will automatically be forever deleted after 30 days. This means that Drive will be on par with other Google services like Gmail for consistency.
Any files already in a user’s trash on that date will remain there for 30 days. After the 30-day period, files that have been in the trash for longer than 30 days will begin to be automatically deleted.
Before this change, you would have to personally delete these files manually forever otherwise they would stay in trash indefinitely.
Since Google counts trashed files that aren’t deleted toward your Drive storage quota, automatic deleting may actually be a benefit for every user.G Suite Administrators will also still have the power to restore items that are deleted from the trash for up to 25 days for active users, so if you accidentally lost a critical work document, there’s still a chance to save it.
And to make sure everyone knows of this change to come, Google will display banner notification to Google Drive as well as the specific Google Docs and Google Forms apps. Google says users don’t need to do anything as this policy change will trigger automatically.